Feist announced as winner of the 2012 Polaris Music Prize

Feist has been revealed as the winner of the 2012 Polaris Music Prize – the award for the best album of the year by a Canadian artist – for her album ‘Metals’.

This is Feist’s first Polaris win and follows on from her previous nomination for ‘The Reminder’ in 2007.

Other nominated albums included Grimes’ ‘Visions’, Japandroids’ ‘Celebration Rock’, Drake’s ‘Take Care’ and Fucked Up’s ‘David Comes To Life’.

“Polaris is asking me for a quote…. I haven’t had a second to consider how to talk about this yet, but what I want to say is thank you to the people who really listened to my record,” said Feist. “I’m genuinely grateful from one solitary listener to another. Honestly, thanks.”

The winner was decided by the 2012 Grand Jury which included Gregory Adams (Georgia Straight), Michael Barclay (Maclean’s, Radio Free Canuckistan), Chris Bilton (The Grid), Ryan Bresee (CKCU 93.1fm), Lisa Christiansen (CBC Radio 1), Shawn Conner (The Snipe News), Melissa Hetu (TFO), Kevin Laforest (Freelance, ex-Hour), Ryan B. Patrick (Freelance), Tabassum Siddiqui (Freelance) and Nicole Villeneuve (AUX TV).

Comments are closed.