Modestep announce debut album ‘Evolution Theory’ – February 11th 2013

 “There is no other band like Modestep in dance music right now” Mixmag

“The Modestep live show is something you have to see to believe” Kerrang!

“The kings of the crossover” Metro

‘Evolution Theory’ is the highly anticipated debut album from north London dubstep-rock band Modestep, released February 11th on Max Records/A&M. Containing all their hit singles – ‘Sunlight,’ ‘Feel Good,’ ’Show Me A Sign,’ and ‘To The Stars’, plus new single ‘Another Day’ Featuring Popeska – ‘Evolution Theory’ was written, recorded and produced by Modestep. The band will embark on a UK headline tour shortly after the album’s release, full details below.

Aside from the singles – whose videos have received over 45 million views on YouTube – other album highlights include the immense, hook-heavy ‘Burn’, featuring Dirtee Stank’s Newham Generals, and the intense ‘Praying For Silence’ (featuring Document One), written about the 2011 riots. Modestep vary the pace with the spacey dub-rock of ‘Time,’ the lighters-in-the-air epic ‘Save The World’ – which sounds like the theme tune to a future Bond film – and awesome title track ‘Evolution Theory’ (featuring D Power, Jammin, Frisco & Jammer) which builds from downtempo, grime beginnings into a full-on dubstep monster. Cohesive yet continually surprising, ‘Evolution Theory’ promises to take Modestep’s thrilling, genre-hopping music to the masses.

Modestep were born online in 2008, when brothers Josh and Tony Friend started Modestep Radio to showcase their productions and dubstep tracks they loved. By late 2010 they were writing their own songs, one of which was ‘Feel Good,’ for which they made a cheap video.  They gave the exclusive to dubstep Youtube channel UKF and within weeks it had 4 million hits. By Jan 2011 Modestep found themselves on the Radio 1 A-List and the hottest unsigned property in UK music. A&M won the race to their signatures, with the band creating their own imprint Max Records.

Modestep became a fully-fledged live band after Josh (vocals, keyboards) and Tony (decks, guitar) recruited Matt Curtis (drums) and Nick Tsang (lead guitar) in early 2011. Since then the band have toured relentlessly, smashing it at Festivals all over the world and touring the UK with Lost Prophets. The Modestep live show is a beast that has ignited crowds from Reading to Sydney to Las Vegas to Moscow to Ibiza – the band have played to 1.5million people in 2012 alone – making Modestep a truly international act, able to sell out gigs all over the world. Signed to Interscope in the US, they have the potential to be the UK’s biggest rock/dance crossover band since the 1990s.

‘Evolution Theory’ tracklisting:

1.      Show Me A Sign

2.      Another Day feat. Popeska

3.      Evolution Theory feat. D Power, Jammin, Frisco & Jammer

4.      Sunlight

5.      Praying For Silence feat. Document One

6.      We Will Not Fall feat. Foreign Beggars

7.      Time

8.      Burn feat. Newham Generals

9.      To The Stars

10.  Leave My Mind

11.  Feel Good

12.  Bite The Hand

13.  Up

14.  Save The World



Saturday 2nd Feb                               Newcastle O2 Academy2

Sunday 3rd Feb                                  Manchester University – Club Academy

Monday 4th Feb                                Glasgow OABC2

Wednesday 6th Feb                        Liverpool O2 Academy2

Thursday 7th Feb                              Bristol Thekla

Friday 8th Feb                                    Birmingham O2 Academy 2

Sunday 10th Feb                                Oxford OAcademy2

Monday 11th Feb                              Norwich Waterfront

Tuesday 12th Feb                              Nottingham Rescue Rooms

Thursday 14th Feb                            London Koko

Friday 15th Feb                                  Exeter Lemon Grove

Saturday 16th Feb                             Brighton Concorde 2

Sunday 17th Feb                                Plymouth Covert

Tickets go on sale at 9am on Friday 16th November priced at £12 (regionally) / £14 (London) (subject to booking fee) and are available from or 

Comments are closed.