To Kill A King announce debut album ‘Cannibals With Cutlery’

 ‘Cannibals With Cutlery’ is the debut album from To Kill A King, produced by Jim Abbiss (Adele, Bombay Bicycle Club), Charlie Hugall (Florence & The Machine, Maccabees) and Andy Green (Keane, Paolo Nutini), and released on 24th February 2013.

‘Cannibals With Cutlery’ consists of 13 brilliant, memorable songs, which vary in tempo from tender acoustic ballads to epics with orchestral strings, brass and five-part harmonies. At the fore are the intelligent, literary lyrics written by frontman Ralph Pelleymounter and sung in his distinctive, honeyed baritone. New single ‘Cold Skin’ will also be released on 24th February.

Formed in Leeds in 2009, To Kill A King released their debut single ‘Fictional State’ on Communion in 2011. Second single ‘Bloody Shirt’ (from 2011’s ‘Crooked Saint EP’) was iTunes Single of The Week receiving 50,000+ downloads, and Radio 1 support from Zane Lowe and Huw Stevens, Radio 2 airplay from Nemone, and playlists on XFM and Absolute Radio.  This year, To Kill A King released the ‘Word of Mouth EP’, a collection of live recordings from their Fortress Studios lock up, with lead track ‘Howling’ receiving critical acclaim.

A brilliant live band, To Kill A King have gigged relentlessly, completing two UK headline tours and selling out London shows at Hoxton Bar & Kitchen, The Garage, XOYO (as part of Q Magazine’s ‘Now: The Sessions’ series), and most recently Cargo. They’ve also performed a series of ‘Guerilla Gigs’ – acoustic sets played nationwide in unusual and secret locations such as the DLR, river banks, shops, National Trust properties & train stations – plus over 60 ‘living room shows’, gigs in fan’s living rooms organized via the band’s Facebook page.

In Summer 2012 To Kill A King performed at thirteen festivals including Bestival, Wilderness and Field Day and supported Lucy Rose, Bastille and Dispatch. Most recently, this November the band have been touring Europe as main support to Two Gallants across Germany, Brussels & Paris, including an appearance at Germany’s Rolling Stone Weekender.

Now based in London. To Kill A King are Ralph Pelleymounter (vocals/acoustic guitar), Josh Platman (bass), Jon Willoughby (drums), Ian Dudfield (electric guitar), and Ben Jackson (synth and keys)

‘Cannibals With Cutlery’ track listing:

  1. I Work Nights And You Work Days 
  2. Cold Skin               
  3. Funeral 
  4. Wolves  
  5. Cannibals With Cutlery      
  6. Besides She Said 
  7.  Gasp      
  8. Choices 
  9. Rays       
  10. Children Who Start Fires                                                  
  11.  Fictional State     
  12.  Family   
  13.  Letters To My Lover (The Dylan Fan)                                              
Comments are closed.