Liam Finn to release new album, The Nihilist on May 5

Liam Finn will release his first album in three years, The Nihilist on May 5, 2014 via Yep Roc Records. The new record is the follow up to Finn’s acclaimed 2011 Transgressive album FOMO and will be backed by UK & European tour dates (following a recent run of U.S. dates with fellow Kiwi Connan Mockasin), to be announced shortly.

Finn, who plays an awe-inspiring 67 instruments on The Nihilist, maniacally assembled the album with contributions from frequent bandmates/collaborators Eliza Jane Barnes (vocals), his brother Elroy (drums) and fellow NZ songwriter Jol Mulholland (bass). Sessions for the tracks – many of which see Finn inhabiting various character-driven vignettes – took place entirely between the hours of sunset and sunrise in a Brooklyn studio (close to his home in Greenpoint) overlooking the Manhattan skyline.

Liam has premiered a deeply surreal video for the single ‘Snug As F*ck’ over at Noisey, and Q Magazine has already tipped the album for its “playful, inventive indie pop.”

Comments are closed.