David Gray releases ‘If 8 Were 9’ leading up to forthcoming album ‘Gold In A Brass Age’, followed by run of UK dates

“Adventurous, chance-taking, richly rewarding” **** MOJO

David Gray gives us another taste of his new material with track ‘If 8 Were 9’ in the run up to his forthcoming album ‘Gold In A Brass Age’, scheduled for release on March 8 via IHT Recordings / AWAL Recordings. You can stream the track here. Closely following the LP’s shadow is a run of headline tour dates across the UK, including a sold-out night at Royal Festival Hall on March 17.

Produced by Ben de Vries, son of producer and soundtrack composer Marius de Vries, the new album arrives five years after 2014’s Mutineers, marking a distinctive change in production techniques and a sum of the phenomenal changes Gray has experienced personally in the half-decade since. His well-harnessed gravel and earnest songwriting remain. On ‘If 8 were 9’, the warm-hued album closer, he remarks; “This is probably the craziest song I’ve ever recorded – and this is the pared down version. There’s fluttering piano, layers of guitar, loads of synths. It’s a sweet one to sing, especially the line ‘My heart leans out like these old river trees.’”

To mark his latest studio offering – what Gray feels to be a truly London record at its core – album artwork designer LondonBoy will be offering free tattoos of the eleven illustrations created for each track out of his Peckham-based studio. These will be available between 10:30-18:30 on release day, March 8, on a first-come-first-served basis.

Gold In A Brass Age will be David Gray’s eleventh album in a career that spans over 25 years, several Brit and Grammy nominations, and three No.1 UK albums, including the breakout multi-platinum White Ladder.

Watch the kaleidoscopic video for ‘A Tight Ship’ below:

Listen to David Gray’s interview with Monocle Magazine here:
https://monocle.com/radio/shows/the-monocle-weekly/503/

Londonboy Tattooer studio:
Rye LaneZ Tattoo
210 Blemheim Grove
SE15 4QLSE15 4QL



Live Dates: 

Fri, 15 Mar Cardiff St David’s Hall SOLD OUT
Sat, 16 Mar Cambridge Corn Exchange SOLD OUT
Sun, 17 Mar London Royal Festival Hall SOLD OUT
Tue, 19 Mar Brighton Dome
Wed, 20 Mar Southend Cliffs Pavilion
Fri, 22 Mar Manchester Bridgewater Hall SOLD OUT
Sat, 23 Mar Nottingham Royal Concert Hall SOLD OUT
Sun, 24 Mar Gateshead Gateshead SOLD OUT
Tues, 26 Mar Liverpool Philharmonic Hall SOLD OUT
Wed, 27 Mar Bournemouth Pavilion Theatre
Fri, 29 Mar Birmingham Symphony Hall SOLD OUT
Sat, 30 Mar York Barbican SOLD OUT
Sun, 31 Mar Glasgow Royal Concert Hall SOLD OUT
Tues, 2 Apr Belfast Waterfront SOLD OUT
Thur, 4 April Castlebar Royal Theatre
Fri, 5 April Dublin Bord Gais Theatre  SOLD OUT
Sat, 6 April Dublin Bord Gais Theatre SOLD OUT

Comments are closed.