Josh Ritter announces Europe tour, including two dates at Union Chapel

“Classic Ritter on Muscle Shoals-bred steroids.” Rolling Stone

“Exemplary. A folk-rocking country beauty.” Uncut

“Ritter emerges leaner, fitter and happier on 10th album Fever Breaks.” Q

“The combination of Ritter and The 400 Unit is magical… the music is elevated, giving Ritter an even stronger voice while taking his career and music to a whole new level.” – NPR

Acclaimed Americana/alt-country troubadour Josh Ritter has announced a run of European tour-dates in July in support of his Jason Isbell-produced LP, Fever Breaks, which is out now via Pytheas Recordings/Thirty Tigers. The tour includes two dates at both London’s Union Chapel and Dublin’s National Concert Hall, as well as a show Brighton’s Concorde 2 and further dates in Germany, Scotland, Ireland and the Netherlands. You can find the full list of dates below, tickets are on sale now at:   

Fever Breaks, an urgent politically-charged return from one of Americana’s most-cherished proponents is available to stream/download here: Produced by quadruple Grammy Award-winning musician Jason Isbell, the 10-song record was recorded at Nashville’s historic RCA Studio A and features Isbell’s band, the 400 Unit. Fever Breaks debuted at #4 on Billboard’s Americana/Folk Albums Chart, #5 on Independent Albums Chart, #14 on Top Current Albums Chart and appears on the Billboard 200. The record has also picked up glowing praise by the likes of Rolling Stone, NPR, Consequence Of Sound, Uncut, Q Magazine, Paste, Cowboys & Indians, Associated Press, Louder Than War and many others.

With additional recording and mixing at Sound Emporium, Fever Breaks was engineered by Matt Ross-Spang and features contributions from Isbell (guitar and vocals) and the 400 Unit, which includes Derry Deborja (piano, organ and Hohner accordion), Chad Gamble (drums and percussion), Jimbo Hart (fender electric, ukulele and upright bass), Sadler Vaden (electric guitar, acoustic guitar and 12 string acoustic guitar) and Amanda Shires (violin and vocals).

Over the course of his career Ritter has released ten full-length albums including 2017’s Gathering, which debuted at #4 on Billboard’s Americana/Folk Albums chart and received widespread critical praise. NPR Music proclaimed, “Josh Ritter remains at the top of his game two decades into a highlight-strewn career. He’d be forgiven for loosening his grip, but his hand has never felt surer.” In 2015 Ritter began a close collaboration with Bob Weir and went on to write or co-write many of the 12 songs on Weir’s acclaimed 2016 solo album, Blue Mountain. Pitchfork called the album “quietly adventurous, wise, and a welcome late-career turn,” while Entertainment Weekly described it as “a moving group of tunes worthy of any campfire.”

In addition to his work as a musician, Ritter made his debut as a published author in 2011 with his New York Times best-selling novel Bright’s Passage (Dial Press/Random House). Stephen King wrote in The New York Times Book Review that Bright’s Passage “shines with a compressed lyricism that recalls Ray Bradbury in his prime…This is the work of a gifted novelist.”


16 July – Berlin, DE – Passionskirche (solo show)

18 July – Nijmegen, NL – Stevenskerk  (solo show)

19 July – Amsterdam, NL – Paradiso

21 July – Brighton, UK – Concorde 2

22 July – London, UK – Union Chapel – SOLD OUT

23 July – London, UK – Union Chapel

24 July – Glasgow, Scotland – Oran Mor

25 July – Edinburgh, Scotland – Queen’s Hall

27 July – Dublin, Ireland – National Concert Hall – SOLD  OUT

28 July – Dublin, Ireland – National Concert Hall

Watch the video for ‘All Some Kind Of Dream’ below:

Comments are closed.